Embeded maps not displaying

Comments

9 comments

  • Avatar
    Riza Acuna

    Dear Clive,

    Please accept our sincere apologies if your post was deleted from this Forum.

    We did not expect that it would have a negative impact on you.

    Please note that the posts which had been replied through email are automatically deleted from here.

    Although we could have had replied to you first, I hope you'll accept our apologies.

    Despite this, I am glad to know that you have found a solution to the issue that you have reported.

    I have also replied to your message through email and feel free to also reply to me from there.

    Best regards,

    Riza

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Clive Carey

    No email response to the deleted post was received. I hope that you are able to investigate and please let me know if you need more information regarding this issue

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Riza Acuna

    Dear Clive,

    Thanks for your response.

    I have sent you an email and I hope it reaches your inbox properly.

    We also appreciate that you took the time to inform us regarding the solution that you have discovered in order to resolve the issue. 

    We will investigate this further so as to avoid the same issue in the future.

    Best regards,

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Clive Carey

    It seems that at some point (maybe still) your servers have been serving an erroneous Java script file https://www.marinetraffic.com/js/embed.js which contains an undefined variable "localembed". This causes a script error and the embedded map to fail.

    Using a clean machine and new install of windows I have managed to download a version of embed.js that works as it makes no reference to the the "localembed" variable.  

    (function() {
    
        if ("https:" == document.location.protocol) {
            /* secure */
            var src = 'https://www.marinetraffic.com/';
        } else {
            /* unsecure */
            var src = 'http://www.marinetraffic.com/';
        }


    However the version I have in my browser cache on absolutely every other machine (linux, Windows, Android - and all browsers) makes reference to the the localembed variable

    (function() {
    
        if ("https:" == document.location.protocol) {
            /* secure */
            var src = localembed ? 'https://marinetraffic.local/' : 'https://www.marinetraffic.com/';
        } else {
            /* unsecure */
            var src = localembed ? 'http://marinetraffic.local/' : 'http://www.marinetraffic.com/';

    Deleting the browser cache on a machine resulted in the embedded maps working again (tested using the link https://www.marinetraffic.com/en/p/embed-map) however while this indicates that the problem is caused by an erroneous cached js file client-side it needs fixing server-side IMHO

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Riza Acuna

    Dear Clive,

    I am glad that you have posted publicly the solution that you found so far.

    While it has work from your end, it may not be the same for other users who are encountering an issue with their embedded maps.

    Rest assured that our technical team is working on this.

    I will keep you updated as well.

    Best regards,

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Clive Carey

    I agree, this should not be considered as a workaround for all. It is much better to fix the problem and I am merely highlighting what the issue is.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Clive M Watts

    Clive

    I have been following your fixes and workarounds with interest as I had a similar situation with the embedded map suddenly ceasing to appear on two of my websites.  The problem has been solved with the inclusion of your code localembed = false;   I would just like to say thank you for pursuing this Bug.

    Best Wishes

    Clive Watts

    https://www.flagdeck.com 

    https://hmsscarborough.info 

     

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Clive Carey

    Hi Clive M,

    Always a pleasure to say hello to a another Clive!

    BTW I am starting off with AIS and I am dabbling with a station at Robin Hoods Bay just up the coast.

    Regards

    Clive

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Clive M Watts

    Well fancy that Clive!  One of the websites that alerted me to the embedded map failure was the Whitby Weather website

    http://whitbyweather.com/index.php?p=1_54_Ship-Tracker  which I checked out in case it was a problem with my set-up.

    I don't know whether you are aware but Neal Arundale , Radio Ham, Scarborough Yacht Club member and ex owner of the local Peugeot  Garage  who operated the Yorkshire Coast AIS for Marine Traffic and others has died.  I don't know who is running his rig but it obviously is still up and operational.  

    I will keep in touch and monitor the Forum.  

    Best Wishes

    Clive Watts

     

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.